The 2011 Reunion - SSTC '97

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Party planning across the miles...

save a life today!

omarmejia

save a life today! Empty save a life today!

Post  omarmejia Mon Mar 23, 2009 8:52 pm

Dear Tito/Tita/friend,

I have been training in the UP - Philippine General Hospital for over 7 years, and I am entering my final year of residency at the Department of Medicine. Through the years, I have witnessed numerous occasions where human spirit triumphed over illnesses that cannot be medically cured. Sadly enough, however, I have seen more cases where financial deprivation overshadows the human spirit to live. Because of this, I’m earnestly seeking your help.

We see patients from all over the Philippines. More than 10,000 patients are admitted in our charity wards annually. Around 95% of them cannot afford to be sick; they either earn lower than minimum wage or have no source of income whatsoever.

A lot of them don’t make it through their trials. It’s sad, as we lose patients simply because they cannot afford the proper antibiotics or procedures. Among the most common causes of death are treatable diseases like pneumonia, or preventable complications of diseases such as those of diabetes. Patients could be easily saved, and brought back to becoming productive members of the society, if only they had some extra money for healthcare.

Because of this persistent and pressing need, the Sagip Buhay Medical Foundation was founded in 1995. It is a SEC-recognized organization of doctors who raise funds to assist the indigent patients admitted at our Medical Charity Wards and ICU.